Blueberry Muffins

photo 3 copy 3

If I’m craving something sweet, I usually resort to CHOCOLATE. Obvious answer, right? Lately, though, I haven’t been able to get enough fruit. I’ve put berries in all the things, which is totally unlike me. Must be the summer-like weather faking me out! I’m definitely not complaining because these blueberry muffins totally hit the spot and dare I say they even rival my favorite chocolate chip muffin? So tasty and you can’t even tell they’re grain free or refined sugar free.

Do you ever feel like you just need a major “treat yo self” moment? After a few long weeks, and I mean looooong weeks, of constant school assignments, work, and crazy life in general, I felt like I deserved a little treat to kick off the start of my spring break this week. These muffins were the perfect accompaniment to my morning coffee and one muffin may have leaded to two…or three. I’ll never tell. But at only 180 calories per muffin, they’re definitely a healthy treat that we can afford to have two of! Thank goodness. Someone stop me from eating my fourth please, asking for a friend.

Blueberry Muffins

recipe from Zenbelly

1/4 cup softened unsalted butter

4 large eggs

1/4 cup honey

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

1 1/4 cups almond flour

1/2 cup arrowroot powder

2 tablespoons coconut flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 1/4 cups blueberries

Preheat oven to 350 and line a 12-cup muffin tin with liners. Add the butter, eggs, honey, and vanilla to the bowl of a food processor and blend. In a large bowl, whisk together almond flour, arrowroot powder, coconut flour, and baking soda. Add the wet ingredients into the dry and stir to combine. Fold in the blueberries using a rubber spatula and divide batter between muffin cups. Bake for 18-20 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Cool pan on a wire rack before removing.

*Note: Frozen blueberries may be substituted for fresh, however your batter will be blue-streaked like mine but hey, a muffin is a muffin is a muffin.

IMG_2382

photo 4 copy 2

One thought on “Blueberry Muffins

Leave a Reply

