Strawberry & Chia Seed Protein Shake

IMG_2210

 

Lets talk protein powder. There are literally so many different kinds out there from whey protein to pea protein to soy protein to goat’s milk protein. Yes, goat milk protein powder is actually a thing that exists. If you don’t already use a protein powder, it’s a great way to sneak extra protein into your diet without having to chomp down on a piece of meat. It’s also awesome for super quick breakfasts during the week when we don’t all have time to sit down to a nice breakfast of bacon and eggs. Protein shakes or smoothies take 5 minutes tops to blend up and you can be out the door feeling full and satisfied until lunch time. While I’m a serious foodie and prefer an omelet over a supplemental shake, it’s just not possible every day with my crazy schedule and I’d definitely rather have a shake chock full of nutrients than skip breakfast altogether.

Protein powders, however aren’t all created equal, and you may need to experiment and shop around until you find one that’s right for you. When I began to use protein powders, I started with a whey based one. Due to my celiac disease and having a hard time digesting as it is, I found that the whey was too hard on my system and caused me more harm than what it was worth. Whey is also a known cross-reactive food (for you celiac’s out there) and may also have been the source of my stomach aches. I began to try out plant based protein powders, and I tried a few before I came across one that I love!

Vega protein powder is an all plant based product that is vegan, gluten free, and free of soy as well as artificial flavors or sweetener. Win! It also doesn’t have scary sounding chemicals like some of the others I’ve seen out there. Only potential downside is that because it’s plant based, it’s color is not white like a whey powder, leading to often funky colored smoothies and shakes, but who the heck cares?! Green protein powder + red strawberries = brown smoothie. Get over it, it’s delicious and tastes like ice cream. Let’s get to the good stuff!

IMG_2198

Strawberry & Chia Seed Protein Shake

3/4 cup almond milk, or milk of choice

1 cup frozen strawberries

1 packet vega-one vanilla nutritional shake mix, or one scoop protein powder of choice

1 tablespoon almond butter

fresh strawberries for topping

1 teaspoon chia seeds for topping

Blend all ingredients in a blender until smooth. Pour into a glass and top with extra strawberries and chia seeds.

IMG_2211

Leave a Reply

