Banana Pancakes with Walnuts & Toasted Coconut

IMG_2075

If you know me at all, you know I don’t mess around with my Pancake Sunday’s. I think it’s important to allow yourself at least one day a week to indulge in your guilty pleasures and for me? Pancakes. Every time.  I’ve been known to caramelize bananas in butter and sugar and throw them on some stacks to let the brown sugar/butter mixture act as syrup, my absolute favorite. BUT in the light of treating our bodies right and nourishing them with the best food possible, this no longer fits my every day way of eating. My mission: create a pancake healthy enough to be eaten every day, but still with the same taste as my favorite indulgent breakfast. Solution: these banana pancakes made with quinoa flour, bananas, and quite honestly not much else. Major win, guys. Major win. Give these a shot and let me know what you think! Do me a favor and top these off with a little almond butter and grade B maple syrup, you won’t be disappointed I swear.

Banana Pancakes with Walnuts and Toasted Coconut

adapted from ambitious kitchen

2 cups quinoa flour

2 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon freshly ground nutmeg

1 1/2 tablespoons baking powder

2 ripe mashed bananas (around 3/4 cup)

4 egg whites

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

2 cups nut milk, I used unsweetened vanilla cashew milk

melted coconut oil for greasing pan

1/4 cup chopped walnut pieces, toasted

1/2 cup coconut, toasted

sliced banana, for topping

grade B maple syrup for topping

In a medium sized bowl, mix together flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, and baking powder. In a small bowl, place egg whites and lightly whisk. In separate large bowl, combine banana, vanilla, and milk and whisk to combine. Add egg whites and whisk again. Add dry ingredients to the wet and whisk until all ingredients are just incorporated, being careful as to not over mix. Preheat griddle over medium heat. Grease pan with coconut oil and add ladleful of batter to pan. Cook until bubbles form on surface and flip when ready! When done, top with toasted coconut, walnuts, bananas, and maple syrup.

*keep pancakes warm on a wire rack in oven set to 170 F until ready to serve.

IMG_2081   IMG_2077

9 thoughts on “Banana Pancakes with Walnuts & Toasted Coconut

  1. These pancakes look divine! I love a good pancake, especially with banana and coconut! I will have to try this one. I have never used quinoa flour. Does it take a lot like quinoa? (silly question)

    1. Thank you, Erin! The quinoa flour adds almost a nutty flavor which I love, not reminiscent of cooked quinoa at all. Feel free to experiment with all purpose or even whole wheat flour too!

Leave a Reply

