Healthy Shamrock Shake

photo 3

What would St. Patricks Day be without an indulgent shamrock shake?! I know I’ve been guilty many years  in a row for stopping by the McDonalds drive through to treat myself to their shamrock shakes on that special day, but after some research on what’s actually contained in their shakes, I’m steering clear of them for good! Obviously it’s not the end of the world if you indulge in a McDonalds shake once a year, but after finding out that there are 54 total ingredients in something as simple as a shake, I’ve taken it upon myself to create a healthier version of this beloved, festive treat.

photo 2

Shamrock Shake

one small handful of spinach

1 frozen banana

1 cup nut milk of choice, or regular if desired

1/8 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/4 teaspoon peppermint extract

1/2 cup of ice

coconut cream for topping, if desired

Place all ingredients in high speed blender until combined. Happy St. Patricks Day! I understand that this is more of a smoothie than a shake, however if you’ve got it in your freezer (unlike me) feel free to add a scoop of frozen yogurt or dairy free ice cream.

*Next time I try this, I’ll add a scoop of SoDelicious Almond milk ice cream- the mint chip flavor! It’s awesome as is, but don’t be afraid to experiment with it.

photo 5

Leave a Reply

