Chocolate Covered Frozen Bananas

IMG_1437

Frozen bananas are like natures popsicles. I mean seriously, they’re an entirely creamy, melt in your mouth treat and it’s just a banana! Like hellooo healthy and delicious, I’m all about it. Then I added chocolate and kinda screwed the whole healthy thing up. Whatevs it’s dark chocolate so its cool. Stop complaining and just eat it sheeeesh. I had to use every ounce of my strength not to cover these bananas with rainbow sprinkles. I had the sprinkles on the counter all ready to go and I had to slap myself. Healthy, Katie, we’re trying to be healthy. So chopped pistachios, hazelnuts, dark chocolate, and a drizzle of all natural peanut butter it is! Convincing myself that these toppings are as fun as rainbow sprinkles, they’re not. Please, someone put sprinkles on these. Thanks.

I’ve had a few friends request some sweet treats that can be made in a dorm room, you know like bare minimum appliances and little to no effort required. Well, friends, here you go! All you need is a microwave and a freezer. Totally dorm room friendly!

Chocolate Covered Frozen Bananas

2 large bananas, cut into thirds

8 ounces dark chocolate

suggested toppings:

chopped nuts

drizzle of peanut butter

chopped dark chocolate

(…sprinkles)

Cut the bananas into thirds and insert a popsicle stick, or something of the like, into the ends. This will make them much easier to dip in chocolate. I froze my naners overnight but an hour or two in the freezer will be just fine. Prepare your toppings before getting too far ahead because the chocolate will harden up pretty fast and you want your toppings to stick while the chocolate is still wet! Melt the chocolate in a microwave safe bowl in 30 second increments, stirring in between, until fully melted. Dip the frozen bananas and immediately sprinkle on toppings of choice. Pop them back in the freezer for about 10 minutes before serving.

IMG_1451 IMG_1446

Leave a Reply

