PBJ Smoothie

IMG_1297Most mornings I have time to sit down, enjoy a nice cup of coffee and a breakfast usually consisting of over-medium eggs, toast, some sliced fruit, and yogurt. But who am I kidding, I have just as many days where I’m in a huge hurry and run out of the door with nothing more than coffee in a thermos, a granola bar for later, and a comb to try to tame my frizzy locks in the car on my way to wherever I’m headed. Okay, I might have lied. Unfortunately this is how most mornings look around these parts and I’ve been making a conscious effort to make more time for myself in the mornings even if it means waking up an hour early.

Smoothies are a great way to have a quick, but nutritious breakfast when you’re in a hurry and they can easily be taken in the car. Pop some bread in the toaster and you’ve got a complete meal in less than 5 minutes. I like to switch up my smoothies as to not get bored with the same ol’ strawberry banana number. This smoothie, inspired by my favorite childhood food, tastes literally almost exactly like a pbj in liquid form. Okay, gross. Maybe shouldn’t have described it that way BUT I assure you there is no bread being blended up into this gem. Toasted oats take care of that aspect and add a depth of flavor, giving it that little hint of toasted bread flavor. So yummy!

PBJ Smoothie

1 cup almond milk, or milk of choice

1/2 of a frozen banana cut into pieces

1/2 cup frozen raspberries or strawberries

1 tablespoon peanut butter

1 teaspoon honey

2 tablespoons greek yogurt

1 tablespoon toasted oat flour *see note below

Add all fruit, milk, peanut butter, honey, yogurt, and toasted oat flour into blender, and blend until smooth. Feel free to add chia seeds, ground flax, or whatever you’d like to give the smoothie an extra nutritious kick. Easy as that! Pour into cup, pop a lid on, and be on your merry way!

*note: to make toasted oat flour, toast 1 1/2 tablespoons whole oats in a pan over medium until slightly brown and toasty. Place in a food processor and blend until you have a fine powder. Ta-da!

 

Leave a Reply

