Quinoa Salad with Balsamic Vinaigrette

IMG_1274

I have to tell you something important. Something that may come as a shock to you. Amidst all of these blondie, ice cream, and doughnut treats, I DO actually eat healthy. “Woah what? You don’t just live on desserts?” No, dear readers, I do not. But I do treat myself often and I think I do a pretty damn good job at it, if I do say so myself. I love to indulge in these incredibly rich and sinful desserts, but I also love eating lighter especially when it’s summer time. I don’t know about you but when summer comes around I feel as though I could live off watermelon and fresh peaches and be totally content. (Though not without turning some of those peaches into a pie first, of course).

Sometimes I just want a salad. Not a boring lettuce, tomato, cucumber, number but a salad that packs a little punch. One with nutritious and filling quinoa, some veggies all up in there, and a light vinaigrette to top it all off. Perfection. Enter: Quinoa salad. There’s no exact method to this madness (greatness?) Just toss everything together and drizzle on some dressing and you’re set.

IMG_1266

Quinoa Salad with Balsamic Vinaigrette

*note: I didn’t measure any of this. If you like more peppers, add em! More shredded carrots? Throw those babies in there!

for the salad:

Prepared quinoa

Chopped spinach

Shredded carrots

Sliced marinated red & yellow bell peppers

Diced tomatoes

Chopped fresh parsley and basil

Chopped prepared chicken

for the dressing:

olive oil

balsamic vinegar

salt & pepper (I like to go heavier on the pepper for this salad)

Easiest dressing ever! Just use appropriate amounts depending on how much you’re making. I made just a single serving and used 1 tablespoon of oil and 2 tablespoons of balsamic.

IMG_1295

Leave a Reply

