Spice Doughnuts: 3 Ways

IMG_1248

I’m probably the most indecisive person you’ll ever meet. Going to the nail salon is the absolute worst and is something that gives me anxiety. But wait, isn’t the nail salon supposed to be a relaxing experience? Answer: DUH. But when I’m asked to chose what color nail polish I want it’s like the world is ending. Do I want that super cute coral color? Ooooo what about that mint color, that’s a new one! But wait, that forest green could be super cool, too. Maybe I should try that sparkly purple! GOODNESS. Can’t you just pick a color for me? I’m over it. And usually just resort to that light lavender color that I get every single time but somehow it comforts me. Weird? Weird.

When it came time to decide if I wanted to roll these little doughnut hoes (that was a major typo, but I kind of like it/think it’s appropriate…sorry if you’re reading this grandma.) HOLES in powdered sugar, vanilla glaze, or sinful cinnamon sugar, all those nail salon feelings rushed to my head and I said to myself screw it. (sorry again, grandma. I’m out of control.) Let’s just do all three.

Doughnut holes filled with warm spices, some dusted in powdered sugar, others rolled in cinnamon sugar, and the rest dipped in sweet vanilla glaze brings peace to my mind and soul. Maybe next time I go get my nails done I should just ask for all 7 colors and feel better about myself?

IMG_1220

Spice Doughnuts 3 Ways…because I can never decide on a darn thing.

adapted from recreating happiness

for the doughnut holes:

2 cups flour

1/3 cup sugar

2 1/4 teaspoons baking powder

1 1/4 teaspoons salt

2 teaspoons cinnamon

1/8 teaspoon ground ginger

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

1/4 teaspoon allspice

2 large eggs

3/4 cup whole milk

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

2 tablespoons melted butter, unsalted

canola/vegetable oil for frying

Get ready for these directions, they’re super difficult. Get out a large bowl. Throw all ingredients in there and mix until combined. Literally this recipe is so easy, too easy, leading me to make them way more than I should.

Fill up a heavy bottomed pot with about 2-3 inches of oil and bring to temperature over medium heat. You can test to see if it’s hot enough by dropping in a little bit of batter. If it sizzles right away, you’re good. Take spoonfulls of the batter and drop into the hot oil. You may need to play around with the temperature so that they don’t get too brown before fully cooked. If this happens, just turn down the heat and let fry a little bit longer.

Drain doughnut holes straight from the fryer onto paper towels to drain. Once slightly cooled, coat some with powdered sugar, cinnamon sugar, or vanilla bean glaze and enjoy while still warm. Ahhh the best!

for the toppings:

1 cup powdered sugar

1/2 cup sugar mixed with 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

or vanilla bean glaze:

Mix 3/4 cup powdered sugar, 2 tablespoons milk, and 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract. Mix until there are no more lumps and dip doughnuts.

IMG_1241

Leave a Reply

