Shrimp Tacos with Pineapple Mango Salsa

IMG_0465

Tonights dinner conversation revolved around all the weird foods I used to like when I was little. My mom reminded me of my 4 year old love for capers, feta cheese, anchovies (…what), and shrimp. Like really what 4 year old likes any of these things?? I still love capers, feta, and shrimp, but anchovies? Definitely grew out of that one unless it’s beautifully disguised in a caesar salad and even then, that’s pushin it. Just thankful I didn’t grow out of loving shrimp! Shrimps are funny little creatures, and if you can get past devaining them, you’re a superhero in my book. God bless already devained shrimp, that’s all I have to say.

Lately, pineapple has been so incredibly sweet and delicious! Usually they don’t hit their peak until mid-summer but something must be in the water wherever their grown. Typically I can only handle small amounts of pineapple because my mouth is really sensitive to the acid in them, weird I know, BUT for the past few weeks I’ve been eating pineapple like it’s my dang job. It’s super juicy and not acidic at all. Woo!

IMG_0455

Some nights I just lay in bed and think about food. Please tell me I’m not the only person who does this, because if so, I’m 99% sure this makes me a crazy. A couple of nights ago I dreamed up this little creation of chili shrimp tacos with pineapple and mango salsa and a chipotle aioli, and I’m so glad that I did. These tacos, pardon my dorky expression, were literally the bomb! The way the sweetness of the salsa works with the slightly spicy shrimp with a kick from the aioli is something worth celebrating, for sure.

Shrimp Tacos with Pineapple Mango Salsa

for the salsa:

1 cup chopped pineapple (chopped pretty finely, refer to above picture)

1/2 cup chopped mango

1/2 cup finely chopped red onion

1 teaspoon finely chopped jalepeno

juice of 1 lime

2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro

Combine all ingredients in a bowl and let sit in fridge at least 2-3 hours before serving in order for all of the flavors to come together.

 

for the chipotle aioli: 

1/2 cup mayo (or greek yogurt)

1 tablespoon lime juice

1 teaspoon (or to taste) chiles in adobo- this is super hot, be careful!

Again, just mix everything together and store in the fridge.

 

for the shrimp marinade:

*we had company over, so I used 1 pound of shrimp, but feel free to cut back and reduce the amounts.

2 teaspoons chili powder

juice of 1 lime

2 gloves of minced garlic

2 tablespoons olive oil

salt and pepper

1 lb fresh shrimp

I like to put the shrimp in a zip lock bag and just toss the marinade in with it. Combine all ingredients and pour over shrimp. Give them a good mix and set in fridge for about an hour.

To cook them, just heat up a big sauté pan over medium high heat, spray with cooking oil and throw in the shrimp! Cook until pink in color and no longer translucent. This shouldn’t take long, 7 minutes tops! Be careful, over cooked shrimp becomes rubbery.

Topping suggestions:

chopped cabbage

sliced avocado

cotija cheese

cilantro

pineapple mango salsa, obviously

chipotle aioli, obviously

To assemble, toss some corn tortillas over an open burner on the stovetop until heated up. Top with shrimp, salsa, cabbage, avocado, aioli, cotija, extra cilantro, and whatever else you please. Good luck eating these, you may need a fork!

Leave a Reply

