Backyard Snacks

IMG_7324 9.53.00 PM

In my backyard there’s a garden filled with flowers, citrus trees, tons of herbs, different vegetables, and beets. Lots and lots of beets. So when it came time to whip up an afternoon snack, I felt like there was no other choice. I’ve never been a huge beet fan, simply because their natural, bright red, yet gorgeous, dye has no remorse and will try to ruin every piece of clothing you have on. But sometimes you just gotta go for it, and I’m SO glad I did. Not knowing what to expect, I was pleasantly surprised when these shriveled up red jewels came out of the oven. Simple, crunchy, and delicious is what these chips are all about. Making them into chips really transforms the flavor and texture and offers a lovely, healthy snack!

Beet Chips

4 medium sized beets, any kind will do

olive oil

2 teaspoons sea salt

1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper

1 teaspoon dried thyme

Preheat oven to 400. Wash and scrub beets. Peel off the skin with a vegetable peeler and slice very thinly. I used a mandolin, but a sharp knife will also do the trick. Put into a medium sized bowl and drizzle with enough olive oil to just coat each beet slice. Sprinkle on salt, pepper, and thyme and mix to ensure seasonings are evenly distributed. Transport chips to an oven safe drying rack or a regular ol’ baking sheet. Using a drying rack to roast the chips allows them to crisp up on both the tops and the bottoms. If using a baking sheet, be sure to flip beets half way though cooking. Roast for about 15-20 minutes or until crispy and chip-like. Allow to cool before storing in an airtight container.

tangerines

Also, hanging out in my backyard is a tangerine tree that is is full bloom, perhaps because the poor guy is fooled into thinking it’s summer with this crazy heat wave we have goin on. Don’t get me wrong, in no way am I complaining. Ever since I was little I have hated oranges, orange juice, tangelos, and all other orange fruit besides tangerines. Go figure. It wasn’t until a few months ago that I put my faith into the orange loving gods and risked my well being, or what it seemed like at the time, to take a single sip of orange juice. Shockingly enough, I loved it. Why it took me so long to jump on this vitamin C packed train, I’ll never know. Stubbornness, I guess. I’ve heard it runs in the family.

Let’s talk dark chocolate covered tangerine slices sprinkled ever so slightly with sea salt. I’m 99% positive this will turn any anti-orange fruit person into a full blown lover. Dark chocolate has its ways, you know. These petite bites hit every mark we could ask for. A little sour from the tangerine, sweet from the chocolate, and barely salty from, yup you guessed it, the sea salt. Shocker.

Chocolate Tangerine Wedges

1 large tangerine, or orange

1/2 cup dark chocolate melting chips. I used Ghirardelli’s.

1/4 teaspoon good sea salt

Peel your orange, or tangerine, and separate into wedges. Melt the chocolate according to package instructions and dip half  of each slice (or all of it if you’re feeling frisky) into the chocolate bowl of love. Set to dry on a sheet of wax paper and sprinkle each slice with a tiny bit of salt. Don’t skip this step, trust. These are best served cold and should be eaten immediately after making.

Leave a Reply

